webuser_345889

Split level home

DianaB
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

I don't know where to start....need help with decor for the living room( sofa, lighting, rugs?), entry way is bland and should I replace the long plastic blinds with curtains....I'm clueless. This furniture is temporary I'm looking to buy new but don't know where to start.

Comments (19)

• demolition
    7 years ago

Sorry I'm not a design expert-but your new home looks like a wonderful canvas that you can do all kinds of amazing things with to make it nice & cozy. I'm sure you'll get an abundance of help here on Houzz. Good luck!

DianaB thanked demolition
  • PRO
    DianaB
    Original Author
    7 years ago

Thank you...it's our first home and I just want it to be nice. So decorating it is becoming overwhelming because I don't know where to start.

• demolition
    7 years ago

Well Congratulations! When we did our kitchen & back yard remodel-I created files on Houzz by saving pictures that appealed to my husband & I. I love that you can filter all your preferences on this site too.

• PRO
    DianaB
    Original Author
    7 years ago
    I'm saving photos as well but I have noticed my design looks are all over the place.
  • decoenthusiaste
    7 years ago

Since you have a spotlight over the FP mantel, shop for a piece of art to go there. It should be one you love because the colors from it should work through the other furnishings. The window treatment below is too formal for your room, but is to show the idea of hanging stationary panels outside the recess and using fabric or fiber shades at the window itself. I'd use a round table in the dining area and hang a new chandelier that throws light upward instead of down. Down lights wash out the food colors and case unflattering nose and other shadows on diners' faces.

Jennifer Brouwer Design Inc. · More Info

• PRO
    Defined ID Design
    7 years ago