yasminwallace

Crown molding on shaker style cabinets

yasminwallace
6 years ago
I have no knowledge on this so I need some advice. Our contractor told the cabinet builders to put straight edge crown molding on our cabinets. I had no idea this was even an option or thing to do, I just assumed it would be regular crown molding that comes out at an angle. I have several pictures saved of shaker style cabinets that all have that angle molding. After doing some research I see that some people choose straight edge look. Now I'm having issues understanding why they're telling me it's a problem to have angled molding bc our ceiling isn't even. We cannot be the first people in the history of kitchen remodeling to have this issue so whats the problem?? I'm very frustrated and just want it to look right in the end. I don't like the straight edge look, it makes it feel too contemporary/modern for my liking.

Comments (35)

• User
    6 years ago

It's your house and your money. You get to make the decisions, not him.

• Junee Bug
    6 years ago
    I have shaker cabinets with angled ceilings! I insisted on this moulding because I also didn't like the straight edge for same reason as yours. Here it is, they just cut the areas on the ceiling that has an angle and added on areas to make my ceiling look even-- you can't tell unless you look up close and try to count how many angles there are.
  • PRO
    Roanoke Woodworking Inc.
    6 years ago

More than likely, the contractor doesn't have it in his budget to take the time to scribe a crown molding to the ceiling. Yes, it can be done, but can be very labor intensive. Maybe your contractor doesn't feel he has the skill to do this. You also have to understand that the crown will not have it's full profile height across the room, and the waviness of your finished ceiling may be more pronounced with a crown, versus the square molding you have.