buttrfluttr

Bye Bye to Boring Ceiling Light

buttrfluttr
10 years ago
A fun diy job that required no wiring and has made a big difference to the space!

Comments (15)

• PRO
    ASVInteriors
    10 years ago
    you might wish to post a before and after and better resolution - very hard to say!
  • buttrfluttr
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    Lol, now where did the 'after' pic go? I'll try again : )
  • PRO
    ASVInteriors
    10 years ago
    Well that is definitely a 1000% improvement!
  • Fred S
    10 years ago
    You must post a picture at night with the light on.
  • PRO
    Iris K. Rizenbah Lighting Design
    10 years ago
    Looks very nice!
  • Fred S
    10 years ago
    Look nice, but as an electrician, I must tell you that those are not UL approved. If you are not careful you can trap too much heat and damage the wire insulation over time. Leave a little gap at the ceiling to let the air circulate better.
  • PRO
    ASVInteriors
    10 years ago
    Hi Fred - if a gap is left at the ceiling won't the light escape through there and ruin the effect of the light. How is this addressed in other lighting? I am not an electrician but this is an interesting dilemma that should be addressed here for all to learn!
  • Fred S
    10 years ago
    Well that is probably why it is not UL approved. The watts a light fixture is rated for is based on its design. I do not know how much extra heat this will hold, but UL would solve the issue by lowering the size lightbulb it is rated for. A few years ago, the NEC decided that all light fixtures have to be UL approved, probably for this reason. I am not saying don't do it. Just be very aware and don't block in the heat. I cannot tell specifically what may be appropriate for every different kind of light fixture from my house. They are all rated differently for different reasons.
  • buttrfluttr
    Original Author
    10 years ago