amakingspace

Need help with Dining Room!

A Makingspace
6 years ago

This room needs help. Walls to be painted for sure (colors recommendations?), chair rails & ceiling trim removed (or painted white) and new light needed. (Eventually, we will paint all our oak trim white, but that's down the line). We also need a buffet/sideboard--what color? Style? And should I put a rug down? A square one? I feel like this room has potential, but I am not good at this stuff & need help!

I need some ideas about paint color and definitely chandeliers. I considered this light below, but feel unsure on it. What light might look best?

http://www.westelm.com/products/3-jar-chandelier-w703/?pkey=call-lighting

Comments (146)

• mdcathy
    6 years ago

I like the oak trim---and it really accentuates that ceiling feature---painting it white will actually detract from it. I agree about no rug---it is, afterall, a dining room where food could be spilt. The only room in my house with carpeting is my dining room and I hate it---if you do go for a rug, think indoor/outdoor one as they are much easier to clean---and there are lovely ones out there nowadays. Definitely need larger art work. Lighting fixture is really about what you like. Nice to shop online but I like to see in person so I would do some shopping around---find something you like and then compare to what you see online---at least seeing something in person that is the same size would give you a better idea.

• A Makingspace
    Original Author
    6 years ago
    I ordered a light! It's the west elm capiz
    Zigzag chandy. :) next up will be paint but still unsure on color.
  • A Makingspace
    Original Author
    6 years ago
    Tdpi if you can find a link for that one above can you still post it? I like it!
  • A Makingspace
    Original Author
    6 years ago
    Thanks outshopping! Having a colored buffet is a good idea too.
  • groveraxle
    6 years ago